Questions tagged [mtg-stack]

For questions about Magic: the Gathering specific to the Stack, a system for managing the order events resolve in. Please also tag [magic-the-gathering].

For questions about Magic: the Gathering specific to the Stack, a system for managing the order events resolve in. Please also tag .

Based on the data structure of the same name, the stack is a system for organizing the resolution of actions in many games where players have the ability to "react" to events in a way that the response resolves before the initial event.

The main characteristic of the stack is it's last-in first-out (LIFO) property.

142 questions
42
votes
4 answers

Can I cast a spell after a certain part of the stack is resolved in MTG?

Let's say my opponent plays a spell like Fireball. It is put on the stack. I cast a Snapcaster Mage in response. My opponent does nothing in return. The Snapcaster Mage resolves first and it seems like I can play any card in my graveyard now like a…
Demento
  • 3,620
  • 10
  • 35
  • 47
41
votes
3 answers

Does an ability resolve if the source of the ability leaves the battlefield?

Player A taps Goblin Fireslinger targeting Player B; its "deals 1 damage to target player" ability is placed on the stack. Player B gets priority and responds with Snap, targeting Goblin Fireslinger. Both players pass priority. Snap resolves, and…
MadLarkin
  • 687
  • 1
  • 7
  • 9
29
votes
4 answers

In plain English, how does casting spells and using creature abilities work with the stack and priority?

I'm a relatively new player to Magic: the Gathering. I was reading the expanded rules to try to understand exactly when it's okay to cast instants (e.g. Cancel) and use some abilities (e.g. Goblin Diplomats should be tappable sometime during other…
doppelgreener
  • 24,393
  • 15
  • 101
  • 175
17
votes
2 answers

Does Epic Experiment let me pull creatures out of the graveyard that were exiled during its casting?

My brother showed me Epic Experiment today. Now he says you can use it to put creatures in the graveyard and then fish them out with the free spells you get, because the free spells get put on the stack before the original card resolves, whereas I…
Gilsham
  • 328
  • 1
  • 9
14
votes
3 answers

Can you cast a spell while casting a spell?

Suppose I start casting a simple spell, such as Sol Ring. I follow the steps in rule 601, up to 601.2g, which is where I get a chance to activate mana abilities. I tap Selvala, Explorer Returned, which makes me draw as part of her mana ability. My…
Grimmy
  • 405
  • 3
  • 9
12
votes
2 answers

Are creatures destroyed if their destruction happens at the same instant they lose "indestructible"?

Scenario: I play Timber Protector which makes all other Treefolk indestructible (I only have Treefolk in play). My opponent plays a Day of Judgment. Does this only destroy the not-indestructible Timber Protector? or Does Timber Protector get…
SirDuckduck
  • 672
  • 1
  • 7
  • 17
11
votes
2 answers

MTG Is the commander-ness of a card always known to all players?

Haven't been able to find any definitive information about this. 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute…
10
votes
1 answer

What happens to spells on the stack when a player leaves the game?

Let's say, in a multiplayer late-game (3+ players) I want to cast/activate anything during another players turn. Everyone is rather low on life, and in response to my spells/abilities on the stack another player reduces the life of the player whose…
Erik
  • 838
  • 7
  • 22
10
votes
3 answers

Does a spell cast via cascade resolve before the cascade trigger finishes resolving?

Cascade says to: Exile cards until you reveal the appropriate spell Optionally cast that spell Return the exiled cards to your library I am wondering whether or not 3 happens before the cast spell resolves. For example, if you cascade into Pull…
Antimony
  • 1,061
  • 7
  • 19
10
votes
1 answer

Can Eldrazi Processor effects "counter" madness?

In a couple of weeks cards with the madness mechanic, Eldrazi Processors, and Eldrazi Displacer are going to be in standard together. The text for Madness reads as follows: “If a player would discard this card, that player discards it, but may…
Duke of Sam
  • 235
  • 1
  • 6
9
votes
1 answer

Do player choices use the stack?

Last night I played a commander game with a new deck using Noble Heritage as a background. This caused some confusion the first time I resolved my commander, raising 3 questions: What order do we make the choices in? Do the choices use the…
James Jackson
  • 529
  • 1
  • 4
  • 13
9
votes
2 answers

Why don't triggered abilities immediately go on the stack?

Rule 603.2 of the Comprehensive Rules says: Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at this point. Lower, in 603.3 the Rules…
Andy
  • 93
  • 1
  • 4
8
votes
2 answers

Can I choose 0 targets for Terror of the Peaks?

My Terror of the Peaks triggers when my creatures entered the battlefield. My opponent responds to the trigger with Teferi's Protection and phases out along with his board. Can I submit 0 targets or, must I choose one of own creatures/myself?
Barry
  • 83
  • 4
8
votes
2 answers

How can we interrupt the Witherbloom Apprentice and Chain of Smog combo?

A friend of mine was discussing the Witherbloom Apprentice and Chain of Smog combo (pictured below). I was wondering if it would be easy to interrupt the combo easily, since Chain of Smog is a sorcery. For example, if my opponent had Witherbloom…
Kyle
  • 89
  • 1
  • 2
8
votes
2 answers

My opponent used Huatli's ability with a creature that had died. Was that allowed?

Recently, I played a match where a player used a card that killed off everyone’s creatures above a certain power, including one of his own. Immediately after that card, when no other card was played by anyone else and in the same turn, he used a…
1
2 3
9 10